Sri Lanka’s Parliament’s historic decision, rejects the government of Mahinda Rajapaksa
Share on social media

Last Updated on November 14, 2018 by admin

The Parliament of Sri Lanka voted on Wednesday against the newly appointed Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa ‘s government. This has caused tremendous shock to President Maithripala Sirisena. Speaker of the House Karu Jayasuriya announced that the Parliament has approved the motion of no confidence against Prime Minister Rajapaksa. While the protest of Rajapaksa supporters, Jayasuriya said, “I accept that the government does not have a majority”.

Earlier on Tuesday, the Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena was severely shocked when the Supreme Court had restrained its controversial decision to dissolve Parliament and put an end to the preparations for the proposed mid-term elections on January 5. The sacked Sri Lankan Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe got tremendous strength.

A bench of three members of the Supreme Court, chaired by Chief Justice Nalin Perera, gave the order after a two-day court proceeding. 13 petitions filed in against and 5 petitions in favor, of the decision of Sirisena to dissolve Parliament on November 9. Taking the controversial step, the President dissolved the Parliament almost two years before the completion of the term.

The Supreme Court said that Sirisena’s decision to dissolve Parliament will be suspended until December 7 and before the court will give any final verdict next month, it will consider all the petitions related to the President’s decision.

The verdict of the apex court meant that a Parliament can be convened and a power test can be done to find out whether Mahinda Rajapaksa has a majority. After the court’s verdict, Parliament President Karu Jayasuriya had called a Parliament session on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply